Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Rugby powerhouses for Cobra 10s

The HSBC-COBRA Rugby 10s 2009 will be held this weekend – the 14th and 15th November, 2009. After a long absence, the tournament returns to its home ground in Padang Utara, Petaling Jaya, which is adjacent to the COBRA clubhouse.

The ten-a-side, two-day tournament will see teams from various countries, including rugby powerhouses such as Australia, England and South Africa putting on a display of some of the best rugby ever seen in Malaysia.

It is a little known fact that one of the world’s leading 10s tournament, was conceived by the Combined Old Boys’ Rugby Association (COBRA).

It was in Kuala Lumpur that the world’s first 10-a side rugby tournament was held in 1967. The tournament went international in 1992 and as the saying goes … the rest is history.

Throughout its 40-year history, the tournament has always been very competitive with the participation of top club teams such as Canterbury Rugby Union of New Zealand (2007 Champions), Penguins International RFC of England (1993-1994 and 2006 Champions), Marist St Joseph of Samoa (1996 and 2004 Champions), Red Rock of Fiji (2003 Champions) and Argentina’s Mendoza Rugby Association (2005 Plate Champions finalist).

They are joined by Malaysian club heavyweights Sandakan Eagles, NS Wanderers as well as the host team COBRA.

No comments:

Post a Comment