Sunday, February 21, 2010

Shahril wins Overall Media Award

Journalist Shahril Nizam Abdullah of Kosmo won the Overall Media Award in the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM)-100PLUS awards ceremony, Saturday.

Shahril received RM7,000 and a trophy from Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Shabery Cheek.

He also received another RM3,000 for emerging overall best writer in the special report category and RM500 each for his nominations under the best print media, best commentary report and special report categories, making it a total of RM4,500.

Top stars: The winners from Star Publications, from left: Y.P Sivam, Rajes Paul, S.S. Kanesan and Kamarul Ariffin Hassan.

Star Publications’ S. S. Kanesan was voted the best photographer and he took home RM3,000 and a trophy.

Two other Star photographers – Kamarul Ariffin Hassan and Glenn Guan – received RM500 each and plaques for being nominated among the top best photographers.

The Star sports desk’s Rajes Paul pocketed RM1,500 and plaques for three nominations under the best print report, best sports report and best special report categories.

Meanwhile, Y. P. Sivam of the Metro Sport, pocketed RM500 and a plaque for his nomination under the best special report category.- The Star.

No comments:

Post a Comment