Thursday, February 4, 2010

Learning from Houllier, Mombaerts

Technical Directors from Asean countries had the oppurtunity to learn from two well known soccer experts from France.

Gerard Houllier and Eric Mombaerts conducted the three day Asean Football Federation/ France Football Seminar for Technical Directors which was attended by 18 participants. The seminar, held in Petaling Jaya, ended Wednesday.

It was practical hardwork and intense theoretical classroom sessions for the participants.

Houllier had previously coached Paris Saint-Germain, RC Lens and Liverpool - with whom he won the UEFA Cup in 2001.

He then guided Olympique Lyonnais to two French titles, before resigning in 2007.

Houllier had also coached the French national team between 1992 and 1993 and was also the assistant to Aimé Jacquet at the 1998 World Cup.

Houllier was part of UEFA's and FIFA's Technical Committee, in the 2002 and 2006 World Cup finals.

On the other hand, Mombaerts was a player for Montargis, Nemours, INF Vichy, RC Lens, US Noeux-lès-Mines and ÉDS Montluçon.

He began his coaching career with the reserve side of Paris Saint-Germain before coaching the senior side briefly in 1988. In 1989, he managed Guingamp then AS Cannes and Toulouse FC.

He left Toulouse in 2006 to manage the French under-18 youth side before becoming the head coach of the French under-21 side in August 2008.

The AFF/ FFF course this week began with Houllier going through the module of ‘the Role of the Technical Director’ before moving into ‘Evolution of the Modern Game’ and ‘Youth development - the French way’ on the second day.

The practical session under Mombaerts covered aspects of ‘Positive Possession Play’ and also ‘Counter Attacking Play’.

The final day saw Mombaerts going through ‘Combined Training – Mental and Physical’ as Houllier then sums up the seminar with ‘Ingredients of a Winning Team’.

May Tola, Keo Sareth, Scott O’Donell (CAMBODIA); Emral Abus, Satia Bagdja Ijatna (INDONESIA); Phothone Thanavady, Soutsakhone Oudomphet (LAOS); Lim Kim Chon, R. Gopalkrishnan (MALAYSIA); U Win Thu Moe, U Lin Yaung (MYANMAR); Jose Ariston P. Caslib, John Pomar Carmona (PHILIPPINES); Jita Singh (SINGAPORE); Dr. Kasom Chanawongse (THAILAND); Antonio Timoteo Moreira da Silva (TIMOR LESTE); Truong Hai Tung, Pham Truong Minh (VIETNAM).

No comments:

Post a Comment