Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Cobra 10s in PJ Stadium

HSBC-COBRA Rugby 10s 2010 will be held the coming weekend - 13 and 14 November, 2010 at Petaling Jaya Stadium in Kelana Jaya.

HSBC-COBRA 10s - as the tournament is popularly known – will return
to its familiar venue at the Petaling Jaya Stadium after a sojourn in its home ground in Padang Astaka, Petaling Jaya last year.

The ten-a-side, two-day tournament will see teams from various countries, including rugby powerhouses such as Australia,England, New Zealand, South Africa putting on a display of some of the best rugby ever seen in Malaysia.

It is a little known fact that rugby 10s was conceived by the Combined Old Boys’ Rugby Association (COBRA).

It was in Kuala Lumpur that the world’s first 10-a side rugby tournament was held in 1967. The tournament went international in 1992 and as the saying goes … the rest is history.

Throughout its 40-year history, the tournament has always been very competitive with the participation of top club teams such as Canterbury Rugby; Union of New Zealand (2007 Champions), Penguins International; RFC of England (1993-1994 and 2006 Champions), Marist St Joseph of Samoa (1996 and 2004 Champions); Red Rock of Fiji(2003 Champions) and Argentina’s Mendoza Rugby Association (2005 Plate Champions finalist).

Tournament regulars and COBRA supporters include South African teams such as Natal Duikers, SA Mustangs, Northlink College Rugby; and Ponsonby of New Zealand. They are joined by Malaysian club heavyweights Borneo Eagles, NS Wanderers as well as the host team COBRA.

No comments:

Post a Comment