Friday, April 15, 2011

FIFA Task force to improve football

The FIFA Task Force Football 2014 will start its mission on 10 May 2011 when the working group convenes at the Home of FIFA in Zurich for the first time. The 22-member group consisting of high-profile experts from the world of football is chaired by Franz Beckenbauer (Germany), who will be supported in the performance of his duties by his deputy chairman Pelé (Brazil).

The Task Force’s objective is to look at proposals to improve both the attractiveness of football and match control in elite competitions in areas such as the Laws of the Game, refereeing, competition regulations, women’s football, medical matters and fair play. The Task Force will provide a first report to the FIFA Congress in Zurich on 1 June 2011.

“We’re very proud to have on board some of the highest-profile names in football for this committee. Under the chairmanship of Franz Beckenbauer this vastly experienced team will address every facet of the game, tackling any challenges related to the game and coming up with appropriate solutions,” said FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter.

“I’ve enjoyed carrying out my role as chairman of the Football Committee since 2007. Since then, my colleagues from around the world and I have achieved a great deal, but important matters such as goal-line technology, additional referees, the so-called ‘triple-punishment’, behavior on and off the field, as well as various other topics still need to be discussed and positively resolved.

"As such, I am happy to take on the chairmanship of the Task Force Football 2014 at the invitation of Blatter. Football remains an important part of my life,” commented Franz Beckenbauer.

The other working group members are (in alphabetical order): Carlos ALARCON (Paraguay), Demetrio ALBERTINI (Italy), Massimo BUSACCA (Switzerland), KALUSHA BWALYA (Zambia), CAFU (Brazil), Bobby CHARLTON (England), Ivan CURKOVIC (Serbia), Prof Dr Jiri DVORAK (FIFA), Sunil GULATI (USA), Fernando HIERRO (Spain), Charmaine HOOPER (Canada), Alex HORNE (England), Christian KAREMBEU (France / New Caledonia), LU Tracy (China PR), Ioan LUPESCU (Romania), Peter MIKKELSEN (Denmark), Dejan SAVICEVIC (Montenegro), Marina SBARDELLA (Italy), Kohzo TASHIMA (Japan), Theo VAN SEGGELEN (Netherlands, FIFAPro).

No comments:

Post a Comment